Simon in Cape Town

A bit late...

Hello from the other side!
There I am with another cool story to tell, after almost 8 weeks, Sorry for that!
In the week of 14 December I’ve been to town everyday, yes every day. I’ve been to markets, restaurants for lunch (almost every day) Waterfront, Sea Point.
On the 20th of December I went to Hout Bay by bus, which takes an hour. I’ve been there to the market and had some really good fish and chips. Then there was a big fire on the mountain happening in like 5 minutes time, everything started to smell like smoke. There are more fires now because it’s hot and it didn’t rain for long.
On the 24th of December I went with my host mom, who works for a company for volunteers, to the Wolwerivier Settlement. The volunteers organized a christmas party for the kids, the kids got presents and every family got a packet with food for Christmas. That was really special to see but also very nice because everybody was so happy! When we were at home again we had Christmas dinner together.
On Christmas day we didn’t do a lot because we already had Christmas the day before, but we went to Canal Walk to watch a movie and to eat there. And of course when we were home we ate again, because Christmas...
Saturday the 26th of December, for the Dutch people 2nd Christmas day, but they don’t have that here I hiked Lions Head again with friends. We went at like 6 o’clock, we watched the sunset at the top and we saw the full moon. We had to hike down in the dark, which is a bit weird but we survived!
On the 31st of December I went with friends to the Jeremy Loops concert in the Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. This is a really nice place for a concert because it’s open air and just a field where everybody sits and eats. It was a really nice way to celebrate new years, also a bit weird for me because I’m used to fireworks and oliebollen the whole day!
During the first week of January, I went to town again a couple of times. I went to the Slave Lodge, this was pretty impressive to see everything what the slaves had to deal with at the actual place. I also went to the Castle of Good Hope, built by the Dutch East India Company between 1666 and 1679.
On the 29th of January I went to Mumford & Sons at the Grand Parade in town, this was really awesome.
School also started again three week ago, everything is going well but it feels more like school now because I’m used to everything.
I’m now looking forward to the 17th of March, the day my parents and my sister arrive and an awesome two week trip begins!
For everyone at home, i hope you had fun during ‘’Carnaval’'
I’m going to try to write soon again, if I have some interesting things to tell.
I hope you enjoyed it again, and leave a comment on the comment page if you want!
Simon
There are no foreign lands
It is the traveler only who is foreign

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active